When it’s 38 degrees in Perth what do you cook?

Soup. Minestrone.  Of course.

I had a hankering for vegies.  Lots of vegies.  And this is just about my favourite soup recipe.

It comes from Alison Holst’s “Meals without Meat”.

It’s super easy.

Here’s how.

Ingredients

  • 1 medium onion finely diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 1 litre vegie stock (I use the tetra pack stuff)
  • 1 medium potato, peeled, cut into small cubes
  • 1/4 cup or a handful of macaroni (or whatever you have on hand)
  • 1 zucchini chopped
  • 1/2 – 1 cup green beans chopped
  • 1 cup chopped cabbage
  • 2 tins of diced tomatoes
  • 1 tin red kidney beans

Method

  1. Heat some olive oil in a pan and saute the onion & garlic
  2. Add the stock
  3. Add the potatoes & macaroni and simmer while you prepare the green vegies
  4. Add the other vegies
  5. Crack open your tins of tomatoes and beans and add them – bean juice and all (adds to the flavour)
  6. Simmer gently until the potato and macaroni are cooked
  7. Serve with cracked pepper and parmesan cheese

Alison suggests adding sugar and salt to taste.  I don’t bother.

It freezes like a charm.

Here it is bubbling away on the stove:

Minestrone Soup

Do you have a favourite soup recipe?

3 thoughts on “When it’s 38 degrees in Perth what do you cook?

  1. Oh!! That’s my all time favourite cook book!! I’m pretty sure the yummy curried sweet potato soup I adore (favourite soup, to answer your question) is from the same book. (I’m too lazy to go into the kitchen to check).

    • I’ll have to try that one too – thanks 🙂 I’m thinking of setting myself a challenge over winter to try a new soup each week. I’ll be after more inspiration – the kids only ever want pumpkin (and this from a kid who refuses to eat pumpkin in a non soup form).

      • Ooh I’m with you on that, would also like to increase my soup varieties – we tend to fall back on the curried sweet potato one all the time because all three of us adore it. Let’s have some soup recipe sharing when winter comes along!

Leave a Reply

