Easter Cooking

As with most celebrations, we spent one day with my family and the other with DB’s.  Sometimes we’re organised enough to schedule something all together (like Christmas last year) but not this year.

I did some cooking for our gathering for DB’s family.  The other was much more casual, just a picnic at a playground where the kids can go crazy – called colloquially The Dr Seuss Park (actually called Kadidjinny).

Why is it called the Dr Seuss park?  Lots of red and white stripey poles, blue hills to run over, around and hide behind – basically a world for kids to discover and make their own.

I love this tree sculpture at the park:Back to Easter with the in-laws.  My mother-in-law was making delicious pierogi so between us, my sis-in-law and I threw together some side dishes and desserts.  Unfortunately, no photos of either.

Oven Roasted Pumpkin Salad

This is now DB’s all time favourite salad.  That’s good enough for me.  Here’s how:

  1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees (Celsius)
  2. Toast 1/4 cup pine nuts, or slivered/flaked almonds
  3. Peel 1/2 butternut/kent pumpkin and chop into 2cm chunks
  4. Place in a single layer in an oven dish with 1 red onion sliced thinly, and 4 cloves crushed garlic
  5. Drizzle with 1 – 2 tablespoons olive oil & 60ml maple syrup
  6. Bake for 40 minutes turning occasionally until pumpkin is tender but still firm
  7. Cook 6 rashers bacon which have been finely diced
  8. Remove pumpkin from oven and gently stir in 30ml balsamic vinegar
  9. Add the pre-cooked bacon and set aside to cool
  10. Place 1 packet spinach & rocket salad leaves on a platter. Spoon over pumpkin mixture, nuts and some diced fetta cheese
  11. Serve at room temperature

This recipe came from our local primary school’s 10th anniversary cookbook, but no name was attributed.

Semolina and Almond Cake

Ohhh, I love this cake.  My middle sister introduced me to it and it’s one of the best cakes. It’s also a ‘grown-up cake’ which isn’t entirely fair to my children as they love it too.  But I make it when I want a dessert that’s a break from muffins and cupcakes.

At Easter it makes a nice break from chocolate flavours and the lemon syrup that you pour over at the end means it’s always moist.  Mmmm mmmm.

Best served with thick cream.

Rather than type out the recipe again, I’ve found it online.

Let me know if you try it (and like it!).

Leave a Reply

